The Holy Patriarchal and Stavropegic Monastery of Eleousa, located south of the Holy Monastery of Dilios, is dedicated to Saint Nicholas and is also called “Methodatos or Gioumatos” after families of the same name

The Holy Patriarchal and Stavropegic Monastery of Eleousa, located south of the Holy Monastery of Dilios, is dedicated to Saint Nicholas and is also called “Methodatos or Gioumatos” after families of the same name. According to tradition, its renaming to Eleousa Monastery is due to the icon of the Virgin Mary Eleousa, which is now located opposite the Despot’s Throne in the monastery’s Catholicon.

Before the fall of Ioannina to the Turks (1431), it was located in the Monastery of Saint Paraskevi, where the building of the Region of Epirus stands today; However, after the Church was converted into a mosque in 1548, a virtuous nun named Parthenia transferred the icon, following a vision of the Virgin Mary, to the monastery where it is located today. Since then, the monastery has been renamed the Monastery of Eleousa.

Pogoni Sights

Kouvaras Gorge

Kouvaras Gorge is one of the most fascinating natural landscapes in Pogoni and is directly connected to the area between Dolo and Pogoniani. Dolo, built

Read More »
Museums

Museum of Silversmithing

The Ioannina Silversmithing Museum is dedicated to the history and evolution of silversmithing, an art form inextricably linked to the city’s identity.

Read More »

See more

Scroll to Top